Home > Poetry > Teenage Poetry

Teenage Poetry

Hello my nibblers!
I was looking through some WordPress blogs last week when I ran into a blog about poetry and how this girl would write things down all the time thinking that she was emo and dark. And I started to think, didn’t we all go through that phase? I remember being 17 hearing about Hurricane Katrina on the news everyday, watching Hotel Rwanda, Listening to nothing but Corgan and being massively depressed. During all this I wrote songs and poetry. I felt that my life was so jumbled into one big mess but really there weren’t any real problems to complain about. The feeling of loneliness and darkness overwhelmed me. I remember crying because at that time I couldn’t escape how hopeless and helpless the world seemed through everyone elses eyes. I really did nothing but write on random sheets of paper and napkins, in notebooks and anything that would count as surface for my pencil. I was looking for all those papers now but I can’t seem to find them (I must have thrown them away). However I did mange to find one that I’ve always really liked. Here it is…

Written January 7th, 2007

Lingering Lily:
Lonely the lily sits
Under a lazy sun
Lethargically she waits for the water bearer to quench her
She knows it would be easier for her to just wilt away, a burden no more

He told her he needed her love
Adored her beauty
Showered her with such tender affection
The lily lingers with such high expectations

Now her god that blessed her with the purest of water has left her for the petals of another

I remember sitting next to my then friend while writing this. She was reading over my shoulder shaking her head back and forth like I was crazy. She never did understand me and thats partly why we aren’t friends anymore. Never let people discourage you creatively. Express yourself, strike a pose, VOGUE.

With that being said I found this amazing poem on “Ravenstooth’s Blog” 

BLACKLIGHT:
And… We’ve created our inevitable demise.
And act like we were so surprised.
And it glows like a blacklight on our eyes.
And we look as if all our words were lies.

Check out their blog there is nothing but poetry. This is the only one I have read so far but isn’t so inciteful and unforgiving? I love it.

Send your poetry to my comments and I will post it on my blog.
Write on.
Bite me.
Britt.

Categories: Poetry
  1. October 31, 2009 at 12:29 PM

    Ah. Both of those were very nice. Or dark, which is what I prefer, and how I write. You now have my link. Welcome to WordPress!

  2. November 1, 2009 at 1:18 AM

    I’ve seen the bottom, always adrift.
    I’ve been to the top, the agonies all lift.
    A dry shriveled tongue spits out mist.
    An uncharted thought always has a twist.

    Thank you for you comment.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

